listicles

10 Floral Recipes: It’s Almost Spring!

10 Floral Recipes:  It’s Almost Spring!

Winter can be a tough time of year for me.  After Christmas, which is actually only 4-5 days into winter, things feel a bit bleak for a while.  In Virginia, it rains a LOT, and the sky gets really thick and grey.  As I write this, it’s pouring outside, and I can hear the foghorns on Chesapeake Bay.  I love the sound of the foghorns, and there are other things I like about winter– cozy things like fluffy robes, hot coffee more than once a day, watching true crime, and reading the Narnia books (still not done!).

Another thing I like to do in winter, especially towards the middle and end, is pretend it’s springtime.  This year has been really mild, but usually my mind starts to play tricks on me.  I lived in Florida for 15 years, where it’s pretty much always warm.  March was always springy, and sometimes even in February you could go lay out at the beach!  I love that Virginia has all the seasons because it gives me something to look forward to, but I still associate March with warmth, and March in Virginia is not warm.  

P.S. Here is where you can find Culinary Lavender, Rosewater, and Orange Blossom Water.

1.   Food.com:  Regency Queen Cakes for a Jane Austen Tea Party.   These little tea cakes filled with almonds, currants, and rose water.  They would be fun for a winter birthday party, a girl’s lunch or tea, just a fun floral cooking experiment to share with your family (what I would do).  This is what I made with rosewater.picrVFBNQ.jpg

2.  Martha Stewart:  Rose Petal Jelly.  This calls for rose petals, not rose water.  But you make rosewater in this recipe.  You can do this yourself, or you can buy rosewater from the link above and save yourself a few steps.  ft_jul05msl04_hd.jpg

3.  Try the World Magazine:  Orange Blossom Rice Pudding.  I love rice pudding.  I just ordered my orange blossom water, and aside from that, all you need are some basic pantry staples to make this springy dessert happen.rice-pudding-the-frynamic-duo

4.  Inspired Taste:  Lavender Honey Chicken.   I made this last year after I first got culinary lavender.  I was searching for some interesting, savory ways to use lavender.  The secret is to not use too much– about a tablespoon for the whole recipe.  It has a great aroma and flavor, but if you use too much, it will knock you down because it’s that strong!Lavender-Honey-Chicken-Recipe.jpg

5.  Giada de Laurentiis:  Lavender Honey Cake.  More lavender and honey!  Last year I also made these Lavender Lemon and Honey Cookies, and this year I made these salty lavender cookies (one of my favorite cookies ever).  Giada always does a good job with delicate and feminine flavors.20161203_005522_10358_2690.jpeg

6.  Petit World Citizen:  Kale Salad with Orange Blossom Water.  Now it gets interesting!  Some of the most interesting recipes are from small blogs (so keep reading mine  😀).  I love Pinterest, but you have to physically navigate around the big blogs to find stuff like this.  This salad definitely is reaching for those Middle Eastern flavors: Medjool dates, apricots, pistachios, cucumbers, cinnamon and orange blossom water.  I’m not fluent in Middle Eastern cooking, but it interests me, and this salad looks pretty approachable even if it doesn’t turn out as pretty.

img_8759

7.  Bobby Flay:  La Vie en Rose Champagne Cocktail.    I love watching Bobby Flay!  He is so confident and inventive, but he never comes off as a jerk or like he’s grasping at straws for the sake of being creative.  Since I felt drunk after smelling the rosewater (there’s no alcohol in it, but it smells like a heavenly nectar), I can only imagine how delicious this cocktail will be.  Gin has an herbal flavor to it, plus raspberries and sparkling rosé –perfect combo!

cq5dam.web.400.300.jpeg

8.  Numitea:  London Fog Latte.  This is perfect for when you wish it were spring, but it still feels like winter.  Lavender, vanilla, and a creamy tea…a perfect girly and springy combination of tastes.London-Fog-Latte-featured-3.jpg

9.  Nigella Lawson:  Arabian Pancakes with Orange Flower Syrup.  As I mentioned above, orange blossom water is a Middle Eastern flavor.  Instead of traditional maple syrup and pecans, why not try orange blossom syrup and pistachios?  arabian-pancakes-with-orange-f-5613e7ca37d2b.jpg

10.  The Merry Thought:  Floral Goat Cheese with Dill and Cracked Pepper.  This is maybe the most interesting thing I’ve seen in a long time, and edible flowers weren’t even what I was necessarily looking for when thinking about this post.  But whoa!  Look at those gorgeous colors, and the soft floral flavor paired with spicy black pepper and tangy goat cheese.  I’ve got to try this.  I’m not sure where to purchase edible flowers, especially in the winter, so this one may actually have to wait until spring.  But here is an edible flower seed kit, and it’s only $5.  FloralGoatCheese11(pp_w730_h488).jpg

2 comments

  1. I’m soooooo ready for Spring. I’ve been wanting to try orange blossom water, and attempted to purchase it locally a few weeks ago. The guy at the grocery store acted like I was crazy and said he’d never heard of it. Ordering it online sounds like a plan. That goat cheese is gorgeous. I may have to grow some edible flowers this year. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment Here

