life pretty things

Pretty Things: February 2017

Pretty Things:  February 2017

1.  Goop:  Clean Beauty.  If I’d known about this sooner, I’d have included it in an earlier list, but I’m kinda glad I waited.  I received it in the mail right after Christmas, and am loving it so far.  It’s part health, part diet, part exercise, part beauty.  I like this approach because it’s getting to the root of health and beauty and how they are linked together.  Most of us cannot live on junk food and still look and feel beautiful.  I can’t be sedentary and still feel good about myself.  And even though makeup can enhance beauty, it doesn’t create beauty.  4600b744168211-580965e92b43d

 

2.  C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve.  I have been using this religiously for over 6 years.  I think I’ve been addicted to lip balm or gloss since I was about 10, and this is the only brand I’ve found where I’ve said, “I am never getting another brand ever again.”  I comes in a shallow 2-inch tin, and has a faint rosy smell.  It is glossy but not gummy, balmy but not chalky.  You can use it on any area that feels dry.  Screen-Shot-2014-09-12-at-1.39.54-PM.png

 

3.  Epicurious:  Classic Aioli.    I have wanted to make this forever.  I recently saw an old episode of Anthony Bourdain- No Reservations where he went to Provence.  According to traditionalists, you have to make it by hand with a mortar and pestle.  I’m going to make aioli this spring and post it the same time I share grilled artichokes because it’s a great combination.  When I make this for my family, I’m going to serve it will some very simply cooked (probably also grilled) chicken or fish, and maybe some potatoes.  Since fresh artichokes are a spring vegetable, I’m looking forward to sharing this sometime in April.103834.jpg

 

4.  Eat Yourself Skinny:  Zucchini Noodles with Creamy Avocado Pesto:  One of the very first “new” food tools I bought myself this year was a spiralizer.  I realize people have been using these for a while now, but I like to see how long the trend stays and how useful they seem and which one to buy (this is the one I chose).  I figured my trying an Elimination Diet would also be a good time to buy one since it’s pretty useful with sweet potatoes and for making “pasta” out of zucchini, etc.  I’ve also never made a non-guacamole sauce from avocado, so this seems like a fun thing to try out.avocado-pesto-7-700x1050.jpg

 

 

5.  Well Plated By Erin:  Avocado Couscous Grapefruit Salad.  It’s harder to eat fresh, pretty food in the winter than it is in the other seasons.  It’s grey outside, cold, and not much is available.  Tomatoes, berries, and corn all taste like cardboard.  One bright spot in the winter is citrus, and especially grapefruit.  It’s not as versatile as oranges or lemons, but it is delicious mixed into a salad.  This one gives me hope that spring is around the corner.avocado-grapefruit-salad-with-couscous-recipe

 

6. Baking a Moment:  Champagne and Roses Cocktail.  If you want to indulge on Valentine’s Day, here’s a simple rosy cocktail for a romantic dinner (even if it’s just you!).  The only special ingredient you need is rose water.  Rose water is currently my favorite specialty ingredient, and I’ve been using it to make these***.  A tiny bit goes a long way, but once you buy rose water, I bet you’ll trying to find anything to add it to.    4661featured

 

7.  Jessica in the Kitchen:  Pumpkin Spice Golden Milk.  I’m planning to do more with turmeric because it has a lot of health benefits.  In the meantime, I think this turmeric milk (or golden milk) is a great place to start.  Pumpkin spice sounds like a nice flavor to enhance the spicy warmth (but not hot spicy) of the turmeric.  If you’re over pumpkin spice by this time of year, try replacing the it with 1/2 part cinnamon and 1/2 part ginger. Pumpkin-Spice-Golden-Milk-Turmeric-Milk-is-the-most-delicious-and-nutrient-dense-milk-drink-youll-ever-taste-Its-the-perfect-night-cap-and-is-vegan-2.jpg

 

8.  The Woks of Life:  Cantonese Steamed Fish.  I got my bamboo steamer last summer and have mostly used it to steam plain and veggies and top them with a little lemon.  At this point, I’m excited to try some more interesting and complicated flavors, especially Chinese flavors since that’s the source of the bamboo steamer.DSC_0907.jpg

One comment

Comment Here

