sweets + desserts

White Chocolate Rosemary Cookie Pie

White Chocolate Rosemary Cookie Pie

I have really been on a mission to come up with some interesting sweets.  I have a lot of ideas, but my rule is to only bake one sweet thing per week, and bake no more until the last batch is gone.  So the recipes can only come so quickly!

I was inspired to make these cookie bars after seeing Damaris Phillips make white chocolate rosemary biscotti and dunk it in white chicken chili.  I was blown away.  I don’t know if I can get on board with the dunking-it-in-chili part, but the rosemary and white chocolate combo was intriguing. 14956547_375507969454512_1281471097478760591_n

So I started thinking of how I could do this.  I’ve also been intrigued at the idea of using olive oil in desserts instead just using of butter or vegetable oil.  Since I was already mixing up the savory/rustic with a sweet idea, why not try it here? 

I took it one step further and used elderflower liqueur where I’d usually use vanilla.  Elderflower liqueur…the only way I can describe it is that it tastes like the color purple.  It’s magical.  It’s actually not even something I’d normally keep around, but one of my soulmate best friends, Megan, sent me a bottle, and I thought, “Why not?”  However, if you don’t have elderflower liqueur and don’t want to buy it, you can use real vanilla extract (don’t use imitation).

I kept thinking if there’s anything else I needed for these.  But you know people say if you’re dressing up, you should always take off one piece of jewelry?  It’s like that.  I think I needed to know where to draw the line.  I could have added nuts…almonds, maybe?  Nah, too much. 

To get a good base, I went with my all-time favorite bar recipe, Ina’s Chocolate Chunk Blondies.  I just substituted my twists for hers in pretty proportionate amounts.  If you’ve never made her blondies, do it. 

Also, when you bake this, make sure you watch it for the last 8 minutes or so.  45 minutes is kind of standard for brownies and things, but it may take longer.  That said, you don’t want to overbake it, so just keep your eyes on it.

 

Total Time: 1 hour, plus cooling time

Makes:  One pie-pan-sized cookie

Difficulty Level:  Easy

 

 

Ingredients

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable oil
14906831_375507982787844_1954006037178157914_n

1 1/2 cups white sugar

2 extra-large room temperature eggs

2 teaspoons of elderflower liqueur

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of salt

3 teaspoons of fresh rosemary, very finely minced

1 cup white chocolate chips

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, use an electric hand mixer to mix olive oil, vegetable oil, and sugar together.
  3. Add the eggs and elderflower liqueur, and mix until combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Adding half the dry ingredients at a time to the wet ingredients, use the electric to combine.
  6. Fold in the rosemary and white chocolate chips.
  7. Grease a pie pan with cooking spray. Spread dough mixture evenly into pie pan.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes, or until center is set. Watch carefully the last few minutes so you don’t overbake.
  9. Remove from oven, and let it completely cool before slicing.

 

 

7 comments

Comment Here

