pretty things

Pretty Things: October 2016

This is a new series I’m winging about pretty stuff I see, mostly food and home-related, with a little bit of beauty thrown in.  I love Pinterest, but it is so cluttered with cutesy, unrealistic high fructose corn-syrup covered junk that it can be difficult to find the really cool things people are making and doing.  Generally I go through a specific website to look and save it to my 0227436_480x360boards from there.  Scanning through the rows of Pinterest-ready blogger photos feels like being transported into one of Sandra Lee’s dreaded tablescapes and having so many of her radioactive cocktails that you are actually enjoying her Mexican version of Kraft macaroni and cheese (if you don’t do Mexican, don’t fret because there’s also an Italian version).  Sure, there’s a place for her.  But aesthetically, no, she doesn’t do anything for me.  I like to aspire to something, and people like Ina and Martha keep me on my toes.

I plan my Thanksgiving menus months in advance (like in April).  I will share the entire lineup for this year with you in an upcoming post.  I like to do a different stuffing each year, and I have for the past 3 years.  This year I could not find anything, but then!  Ina, as always, turned up something exciting, unexpected, yet leaving me wondering why I didn’t think of that.  That’s always how she makes me feel.  How easy is that?  Well, it’s easy to follow her recipes, but to be in the mind of Ina, no.  I don’t know how she does it, and if coming up with her recipes were easy, everyone would do it, and there would be no Sandra Lees.  (The recipe I decided on is Leek and Artichoke Bread Pudding.)

This new series I’m going to do will be every month.  I’m going to feature the beautiful things I’m keeping my eye on to make (or sometimes just admire if making it proves too difficult).  And here goes:

 

  1.  Heather Christo’s Roasted Cherry Balsamic Rosemary Chicken:  27705417352_05e47a4ef3_c

 

 

2.  Gather and Dine’s Creamy Whole Oats with Cardamom Roasted Pears:creamy-whole-oats-roasted-cardamom-pears-2.jpg

 

3.  Bakers Royale’s Sugared Cranberries:  

sugared-cranberries-via-bakers-royale-copy1

4.  HGTV’s Natural Christmas Ornaments:  rx-dk-agx06601_orange-pomander_s3x4-jpg-rend-hgtvcom-966-1288

5.  Barefoot Contessa’s Easy Cranberry Apple Cake:page-204-web-horizon

6.  Kiehl’s Turmeric and Cranberry Seed Energizing Radiance Mask:

turmeric-cranberry-seed-radiance_masque_75ml

7.  Running to the Kitchen’s Red Wine Garlic Bucatini (I will be making this for the next girls’ night wine tasting):

Red-Wine-Garlic-Bucatini-3-731x1024.jpg

8.  Ina Garten’s new cookbook, coming out at the end of the month:

img3c

2 comments

Comment Here

