beef

Thai Beef Stir Fry

Thai Beef Stir Frythai beef stir fry - Copy

I lucked out getting this recipe.  My friend subscribes to Hello Fresh, and she gave me a week of free meals!  That was pretty exciting.  I didn’t keep the subscription after the free meals, but I can really see the appeal.  Each week you get three meals with all the ingredients needed to make them.  It forces you outside your comfort zone.  Of the 3 meals I got, Thai Beef Stir Fry was my favorite. 

Until I got this meal kit, I didn’t realize that you could buy “Thai Seasoning.”  But it’s just like getting an Italian seasoning or fajita seasoning.  I couldn’t find Thai seasoning at my local grocery store, but you can order it here on Amazon.

The whole thing took about 30 minutes to make, and I’ve actually made it again quite a few times since.  I usually double the recipe so Jon can take leftovers to work.

This recipe is directly transcribed from my Hello Fresh recipe card.  I actually tried to find it online somewhere so I could pin it and throw the card away, but I couldn’t find it anywhere. 

 

Total Time:  30 Minutes

Difficulty Level:  Easy

Serves 2

 

Ingredients

¾ cup basmati rice

¾ cup light coconut milk

6 ounces of fresh green beans, trimmed

Olive oil

1 red bell pepper, ribs removed and sliced thin

1 serrano pepper, seeds and ribs removed, and thinly sliced

2 scallions, thinly sliced, white and green parts kept separate

2 cloves garlic, minced

10 ounces lean ground beef

1 tablespoon of Thai seasoning

½ cup fresh basil, roughly chopped

1 lime, cut into wedges

 

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. To make the coconut rice, bring ¾ cup coconut milk, ¾ cup water, and a large pinch of salt to a boil in a small pot.  Add the rice, cover, and reduce to a simmer for 15 minutes.  Fluff, and set aside.
  3. Meanwhile, roast the green beans. First toss them on a baking sheet with a drizzle of oil and a pinch of salt and pepper.  Roast for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and set aside.
  4. In a saute pan over medium high heat, add several tablespoons of olive oil.  Add the bell pepper and cook for 5-6 minutes.  Add the scallion whites, garlic, and serrano pepper and cook for another 2-3 minutes, watching closely so the garlic doesn’t burn. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Add the beef and Thai seasoning to the saute pan with the peppers, and cook until meat is completely browned.  Season with salt and pepper.  Remove from heat, toss the basil in, and set aside.
  6. To serve, put the rice in the bottom, and top with some of the green beans and the meat mixture.  Garnish with fresh lime, and serve hot.

(recipe from Hello Fresh recipe cards)

 

 

One comment

Comment Here

